this is the dendoo blog, duh

i can’t teach in south korea // my messed up week

Posted in dendoo news by dendoo on June 23, 2009

so last week was mega hard but i’m trying to bounce back and trying to find my golden ray.
let me tell you about it via videoooooo.  holla!


OKAY UPDATE: this bit below is AFTER i made the video

so this lady with this one agency that hires teaches sent me a little “helpful” email telling me the reason why i’m not going to get hired in S.Korea is because I’m BLACK. Doesn’t matter how intelligent I am, what is on my resume, once they see my picture or even read TURKS AND CAICOS ISLANDS they are going to send me to the back of the line.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mirt said, on June 24, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    AAAGGHHTT!!!! So I guess they are idiots because they are YELLOW???? And what they think about bald ppl? Sometimes I think we all need another Flood 😦

    • dendoo said, on June 24, 2009 at 4:15 pm

      it is really sad that the colour of my skin has to be a factor. this has been a dream of mine. teaching in asia and living in england are two of my dreams and to think this has to play into it. also why should me going to school in the caribbean hurt my chances of me teaching? it seems so sad to me. i am going to keep trying until i can’t do anything else. i have to keep trying. i can’t give up.

  2. Mirt said, on June 24, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    never give up, never give up, never give up, never give up

  3. nyah said, on July 5, 2009 at 3:23 am

    ello ello dendoo, your website came up when i googled “natural hair inspiration”! how sweet is that 🙂 anyway, i get the feeling that we, you and i, are very similar creatures of nature as we share many past experiences. i wanted to comment and give you some inspiration by means of a little story…

    where i live i am the odd ball out. i am the only black person where i work and in all of my classes, this leaves me utterly defensive and i feel most comfortable with other minorities or isolated. my mother is from panama and my father (whom we dont speak to anymore) is from the US. my mothers family now mostly lives back in panama and i went to visit for the first time since i was a baby, last month and WOW! it was amazing. ive never felt so welcome and ‘part’ of a culture as i felt there. now, after a troubling childhood and even more troubling twenty somethings, I know that i dont belong where i live now, i know that there are others places that are better for me, where i wont have to worry about discrimination of any kind, and also where all my anxiety and defenses will disappear. this is amazing for me because I couldn’t foresee a life where i live now. at first my mothers background had no meaning to me, but now it does, to know that there is somewhere where i belong. for many of years i have tried to ‘fit’ in, and its with great ease and happiness that i know that after i finish college in 2 years, i can leave this place and i can be happy where i end up, i can be happy just being me. i tried to give up before and im glad i didnt win. because now i can see happiness, it is within my grasp and im going for it!

    so you see, i am glad i couldn’t ‘fit’ in, im glad that i didnt get everything i wanted because in the end, it would have been lonely and completely disastrous. i really believe everything happens for i reason, i believe in fate. so maybe it’s a good thing that you’re not going to south korea. i dont think you should be sad about it. going somewhere where you are discriminated against because of your skin color is not fun, its hard hard hard hurtful painful depressing, etc etc. i am absolutely sure there are other places for your talents and your determination. i also think there are many other girls out there in your situation and you need to be strong, if not for yourself, then for them. 🙂 *many hugz*

    -nyah

    ps. i added ya on twitter!

  4. mary said, on July 18, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    I wanted to teach in korea as well, but I will agree, it is much harder for blacks, although korean guys do like black girls (just saying) Anyway I was very close to applying and stopped after hearing horror stories about other blacks being discriminated against in Korea. Eh I would go to see sights and relax but for myself I am trying to go to Japan first to teach and then maybe Korea. But it’s the truth, blacks have it harder wen it comes to teaching in Korea.

    THIS IS NOT TO SAY though that you should give up! You should just work harder. I too still want to work in korea and I will make it there, but first JAPAN ^^. BTW How have you been searching for teaching positions?

    • dendoo said, on July 20, 2009 at 10:13 pm

      japan is going to be my first choice now and i’m going to email you about how i’m searching for teaching positions.


Leave a Reply

