this is the dendoo blog, duh

death becomes dendoo

Posted in 1 by dendoo on October 12, 2009

Well my internet hasn’t been fixed yet.  I take it back, they did fix it but then it went down again and then they fixed it and it went down again.  So it’s been about a MONTH since i’ve had proper internet service.  I’ve resorted to doing all sorts of crazy things (all legal) for internet.  Since I don’t have too many close friends I can’t go bum net from them like you would readily suggest but I decided I can’t let dendoo blog suffer anymore than it already has.  I have to push out a post if it kills me. 

Speaking of killing….

My last post that I wrote reassuring everyone that I am alive and well referred to the death of a family member.  My cousin was tragically killed in a car accident and it had me very busy as my family turned to me and my design skills to produce her funeral booklet thingy.  Let’s just say it was a pain in the devil’s rear but in the end I am glad I could do this good deed for her.  It turned out wonderfully (and I’m not just sayin that cause I made it). 

But the whole focus on death got me thinking about death.  Hence the title death becomes dendoo.

What would I like to have for my death?  I think death shouldn’t be a time to wallow in the sorrows of life but rather a time to celebrate who I am as a person.  I’m silly, I’m caring, I’m slightly mental and I’m me.  I don’t want a whole somber story going on at my funeral.  So what do I want?  Here it is, my wants, my hates, my needs for my party.  My funeral:

Photo 7
I would like pictures of me around the room but not ordinary pictures, I want pictures that capture meness.  I want pictures that make you remember something about me.  Perhaps there was a conversation that we had or never had; I want you to remember. 

Rejection
I want my artwork shown too.  I’d like each of my family members to go through my artwork and select their favourite piece and have it blown up.  I’d like them to hang it in my mother’s house when it is finished. 


I would like the "Leela Song" to be played.  Don’t you just love that song?

I don’t want anyone singing any ghetto sipping on some hennessey songs (family horror joke), I don’t want any gospel hymns, I don’t want any long sermons…In fact I’ve written what I want the preacher to say.  He had better say it or I’ll haunt him.

Lastly and most importantly as I am hoping they will cremate me in the end I’d like my ashes to be disbursed in the direction of Japan.  It would be even cooler if someone would take my ashes to Japan and sprinkle them.

Death is something so horribly scary to some, another moment to others, it’s a passage, a journey, a mystery, and it’s something that connects each and every one of us.  I’m terrifed, excited and mystified by death.  I wake up some nights screaming that I’m dying but other nights I look up at the stars and wonder if our spirits will shine as brightly when we go and enable us to guide our loved ones.    What does death mean to you?   What do you want for your crossing over journey?  How do you approach death?  I think we are so excited by life that we hardly give death a second thought.  But in the days following my cousin’s death I’ve given life and death equal opportunites.

All I really want is for them to remember my death needs to be a celebration of whatI was, what I did and even what I wasn’t able to do. 

And no matter what remember everything is coming at you with much love, dendoo

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tatyana said, on January 18, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Charrish I love hope u be there for te summmer

  2. Tatyana said, on January 18, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    I meant for the summer just know that you are the best cousin in the world and I am serious with that and you are not ugly.If a hater calls you ugly say thank cause they help me feel better I hope they do the same to you.You might be like why in the world is this little girl writing on this she is embarrasing me well, I dont care I love you,

    Love ,Tatyana Patrick

  3. Sajib said, on April 23, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    I just missed death for a few minutes while my sister missed it for a second. I know it’s not the proper way to say it. But that’s how I’d like to say it. Please pay a visit to my blog for more details about the happening. A comment would be appreciated.

    And your pinkish blog looks nice! 🙂 Because it’s simple.


Leave a Reply

